The Truth About Love & Cinnamon

On Valentine’s Day, I will be skiing at Vail with a group of friends and family, and of course, my very sweet and romantic husband. Skiing will be followed by a gondola ride to dinner on the mountain with five adults, one teenager and a little one. Does this sound like a romantic get-away? Absolutely!

LOVE1 cards

As I read some of the blogs and articles on love and romance that come across my computer each day, I have a little chuckle to myself. Are there really so many ways to get love wrong? Do all of these rules to snagging a mate work? Could a person honestly “manifest a soul mate in 30 days or less” (seriously, this is the title of a book)?

kiss

Love takes so many forms and we are all so unique, why would anyone believe that they have the magic formula to such a mysterious mix of chemistry and fate?

The lame and sexist “The Rules” tells women not to make the first move, never ask a guy out, not to talk too much, don’t look men in the eye, don’t return men’s phone calls, don’t express interest in men in any way, don’t tell men what to do, don’t pay for anything and demand expensive gifts.

If I had followed those rules, I would have never met my soul mate. The first rule I broke was to initiate contact (gasp!) and there were so many other “no-nos” that I crashed through that if those rules were worth anything, I’d be destitute where love is concerned. Instead, I met the love of my life.

follow

I believe life is full of opportunities to be seized upon. I would rather be turned away than to not have tried, and this goes for all relationships, whether romantic or not. If I feel the urge to reach out, then I follow my feelings and do. I don’t take it personally if the other person doesn’t respond because I probably have no idea what they are thinking, feeling or what may be going on in their lives.

love fscott

One of my closest friendships came about during a meeting in San Antonio with some very drab and serious people, when a woman shoved a piece of paper and a pen across the table and simply said, “give me your phone number”. I did, and she became one of the most precious friends anybody could hope to have and she is one of the people who I adore who will be sitting at our Valentine’s evening table.  In a world where we like to control everything, surrendering to the moment is the name of the game.

courage

So why is a table of seven a recipe for a romance? Because laughter, candlelight, rosy après ski faces sitting around a table perched at 10,000 feet high on a mountain with twinkling lights below, sipping a glass of red wine while holding hands under the table is romantic and a beautiful way to spend the evening with my man.

The-10th

So throw out your “how to” books on love and follow your heart.

And to my husband I say…

love longer

Happy Valentine’s Day y’all.

flowers

Tumblr

One of the oldest spices around, cinnamon has been an aphrodisiac for centuries. I think that is a great excuse to bake something for a Valentine’s breakfast with this aromatic, warm and inviting ingredient.

cinn-scone-3

CINNAMON RAISIN CREAM SCONES

1 2/3 cups flour
2 tablespoon sugar
3 teaspoons baking powder
5 tablespoons unsalted butter
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup cream
3/4 cup dark raisins, soaked in cold water for 20 minutes, drained and dried

DIRECTIONS
In a food processor, pulse the flour, sugar, baking powder and a pinch of salt until mixed. Add the butter and pulse until roughly combined (there should still be tiny bits of butter in the flour mixture).

cinn-scone-callage-1

Beat together the eggs, cream and vanilla. Add the flour and butter mixture to the eggs and cream and lightly mix with a fork until just barely combined.

mixed-dough-collage-2

Add in the raisins and gently toss until they are evenly distributed.

Cinnamon crumble:
1/4 cup brown sugar
2 tablespoons butter
2 teaspoons cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon flour
Pinch of salt

Place all of the crumble ingredients in a food processor and mix until combined. Crumble the mixture over the bowl of dough or drop in by spoonfuls and gently mix until it is evenly distributed but do not over mix (see photo).

scone-doug-web

Turn dough out onto a baking sheet that has been lined with a Silpat or baking parchment. Form dough into approximately a 10-inch round. Cut the dough into 8 wedges without separating the pieces.

Cinn-scone-collage4

Brush with an egg wash made with 1 egg and 2 tablespoons of cream. Sprinkle with a bit of sugar. Place in a 375 oven and bake for 20-25 minutes. Remove from the oven and cool until warm.

cinn-scone-completeweb

Enjoy!

The Truth About Love & Cinnamon by Eva Marie

7 comments

Please share your thoughts. I look forward to hearing from you!

