Falling Snow and an Organic Apple Dutch Baby Pancake

Seventy-seven degrees out, sunny, riding my bike with a warm breeze on my face and the next day I’m in Ugg boots, a cozy sweater, hat and gloves trudging through the snow with my pup who is ecstatic with the sudden change in her outdoor playground.

Growing up in California, I wasn’t brought up with the changing of the seasons so I find the transition particularly exciting. I pulled out my winter clothes a couple of weeks ago when we had a dusting of snow only to be scoffed at the next day by a light sunburn on my shoulders after a cycle around town in eighty degree sunshine. Seriously, how do I plan with the thermometer swinging so radically? Warm and cozy comfort food or cool fresh salads, come on Mother Nature, give a girl a bit of a heads up and some continuity would ya?

Don’t get me wrong, I’m loving the gorgeous view out our window of the trees and mountains heavily coated with snow and I am definitely looking forward to hitting the slopes with my husband and finishing the day off with a juicy glass of Zinfandel. However, I’m a little apprehensive about the possibility of six months of the white stuff on my doorstep. Concern that can certainly be quelled by a well-planned escape route to the perpetual seventy-degree weather of southern California, a visit to Arizona where my father assures me it is beautiful in the winter, better yet, a romantic getaway to a Caribbean island.

For today, we are well stocked with firewood, food and plenty of work to keep us busy for an hour or two which is about how long it will take for the skies to clear, sun to shine and the snow to melt. As they say in Boulder, “if you don’t like the weather, wait ten minutes for it to change”. In the meantime, a beautiful organic apple Dutch baby pancake breakfast beckons.

For the pancake:

For each serving:
2 tablespoons organic butter
2 organic eggs
1/2 cup organic milk (not nonfat)
1/2 cup organic all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon organic vanilla
1/8 teaspoon salt
Pinch of organic cinnamon
Pinch of organic nutmeg
2-4 organic apples, sliced and tossed with the juice of 1/2 lemon
Powdered sugar for dusting

Pan Sizes:
1 average serving (2 eggs) = 6 inch pan
2 to 3 servings (4 to 6 eggs) = 9 to 10 inch pan
3 to 4 servings (6 to 8 eggs) = 10 to 12 inch pan
5 to 6 servings (10 to 12 eggs) = 14 to 16 inch pan

DIRECTIONS

Heat the oven to 475 degrees.

Determine the correct pan size for the amount of ingredients/servings you’re making. Calculate the number of servings and multiply the ingredients accordingly.

Using a blender, combine the egg, milk, flour, vanilla, spices and salt until thoroughly mixed and the batter is smooth. Cut the butter into even chunks (1 tablespoon size or less) so it melts evenly. Place the butter in the appropriately sized pan. Heat the pan and butter in the oven until the butter is melted and the pan hot.  Swirl the butter in the pan to coat the bottom and sides before pouring in the batter.

Pour the batter into the hot pan so that the entire bottom of the pan is covered with the mixture, drop a few apple slices into the batter and return the pan to the oven. Bake the pancake, turning the pan about halfway through for more even cooking. Bake until pancake is puffed and golden on the sides and just slightly browned in the center.  Allow 12 to 15 minutes for a 4-egg pancake. Dust with powdered sugar and serve immediately with warm stewed apples.

For the stewed apples:
2-4 servings (can easily be doubled or tripled)

2 organic apples
2 tablespoons organic sugar
3 tablespoons water, plus 1 tablespoon to mix with the cornstarch
1 teaspoon organic cornstarch
Pinch of organic cinnamon
Pinch of organic nutmeg
1 tablespoon organic butter (optional)

Place the apples, 3 tablespoons of water, spices and sugar in a saucepan and cook over medium heat. Bring to a boil and then reduce heat to a simmer for 5 minutes or so. In a small cup mix the cornstarch and 1 tablespoon of cold water until there are no lumps. Pour the cornstarch mixture into the pan with the apples and stir until combined. Simmer for a few more minutes until the mixture thickens, remove from heat.

Enjoy!

4 comments

    • I used to eat these at a little hole in the wall in Los Angeles when I was a teenager. The apples were overly sweet, I’m sure cooked with corn syrup, so this is my “cleaner” version, but still sweet and delicious.

  1. This is so lovely and as soon as the temperatures lower a bit and I can consider turning on my oven, I’ll be trying this recipe…It was 90 degrees today and will be again tomorrow, Eva! Can you believe it? I think you’d best appreciate that snow! 🙂 I am not getting a fall this year. LOL! Oh well…maybe next month? oxo

    • It is our nature to want what we don’t have, right? Actually, it is all beautiful – snow, sun, rain, I appreciate it all. We were able to get out for a bike ride today, although we were very bundled up. The whole journey is wonderful! Hope you had a wonderful weekend.

Please share your thoughts. I look forward to hearing from you!

