Fresh Organic Juice, Muesli, Spring Rolls…Keeping Life in Balance

Although I often blog about rich and delicious dishes that I love, what I eat on a daily basis is a different story. Living a healthy life-style is important to me. I don’t believe in an all or nothing mentality so the majority of the time I eat really well, then when I want to indulge, I do, and I don’t feel the least bit guilty about it. In my opinion, life is all about balance.

This morning I woke up and looked out my window to see this…

Brrr, frosty gorgeousness…

Please Mr. Barista (aka, Ric), bring on my steaming mocha latte. This is my treat that I won’t give up. A little luxury and ritual that I just love…but I do keep it to just one cup a day. Besides, both coffee and the dark cocoa powder give me a good dose of antioxidants.

Then onto a bevy of colorful fruit and veggies that we juice each morning, adding a bit of Matcha (green tea) powder to it, which gives us another caffeine boost and MORE antioxidants. Organic, organic, organic!

Beets, kale, apples, oranges, celery and a little ginger…potent stuff, all ORGANIC and a great way to cleanse the system.

A little organic homemade muesli made with Bob’s Red Mills Organic Oats, a handful of chopped cashews, dried cranberries, raisins, a touch of cinnamon, topped off with some Silk soy milk.

For lunch, I made a few spring rolls filled with carrots, cabbage, avocado, red bell pepper, sweet pea shoots, bean noodles and tofu, and served them with a little soy sauce (although, I do have a killer peanut dipping sauce that is delicious with these, which I will share with you soon).

Spring Rolls

INGREDIENTS
1 package spring roll wrappers
1 cup green cabbage, shredded very thin
2 green onions, chopped
1 cup thin noodles, cooked rice, Chinese or bean thread noodles
1/4 cup fresh cilantro or basil
1 carrot, grated or julienned
1 avocado, peeled and sliced
1 lime, squeeze the juice onto the avocado slices to prevent discoloration

Optional: cooked chopped shrimp, cooked crabmeat or tofu

Assembling spring rolls:

In a large bowl, one at a time, submerge spring roll wrappers in hot water until pliable, about 5-10 seconds. Place wrapper on a work surface (I like to use a Silpat which the wrapper will not stick to). Cut the wrapper in half so you have two semi-circles.

Separate the wrappers and then start laying your ingredients vertically on the half circles with the round edged as the bottom and the straight edge as the top. Lay the veggies in the center but leaving a clear border of an inch or so at the bottom of the semi-circle. Add a couple of carrot and pepper strips, a slice of avocado, four or five sweet pea shoots, cabbage, a few green onions, herbs, noodles, keeping everything together as much as possible by stacking the vegetables and tofu/shrimp, crab on top of each other, letting the carrots, peppers and sweet pea shoots slightly over-hang the top straight edge.

Pull the bottom edge of the circle up and fold over the veggies and then pick up the left end of the wrapper and fold it over the veggies, pressing the wrapper gently onto the right side. Take the left end, which has all of the ingredients in it, and roll it as tightly as possible towards the right edge. Repeat. Makes 8-12 rolls

Tip: spring roll wrappers become a little difficult to handle once they have been dipped in the water. If you find yourself struggling with them, instead of one, hold two of the circles together and dip them in the water. Pull them out and arrange them on your work surface one on top of the other. They will stick together and be a bit easier to handle. It may take a few tries, but once you get it down, making spring rolls is a breeze!

“Joy is what happens to us when we allow ourselves to recognize how good things really are.”
― Marianne Williamson

Please share your thoughts. I look forward to hearing from you!

